2022-2023 Board of Governors

The FMA Board of Governors governs legally with an emphasis on external vision rather than internal preoccupation; diversity of thought; strategic leadership; collective rather than individual decisions; and future focus as opposed to past or present reactivity.

The Board develops a sense of group responsibility in which they initiate policy, and the Board is held accountable for its actions. They lead the organization in creating broad written policies that reflect the Board’s values and enforce upon itself whatever discipline is required to govern with excellence. Through all this, the Board will instill a sense of commitment and responsibility to the work associated with creating future policies.

FMA President and Chair: Joshua Lenchus, DO

2022-2023 FMA President Joshua Lenchus, DOOriginally from Brooklyn, N.Y., Dr. Lenchus received his bachelor’s degree in pharmacy from the University of Florida and worked as a pharmacist for three years before continuing to pursue his longtime goal of becoming a physician. He earned his medical degree from the Nova Southeastern University College of Osteopathic Medicine in 2000 and completed his internal medicine residency at Jackson Memorial Hospital in Miami. After residency, Dr. Lenchus worked as a hospitalist for the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, where he also became an associate professor of medicine, anesthesiology, and radiology. Additionally, he served as an associate program director for Jackson’s internal medicine residency program from 2007-2016.

Dr. Lenchus joined Broward Health in 2018 as Chief Medical Officer for the health system’s flagship hospital, Broward Health Medical Center. He became interim Chief Medical Officer for Broward Health in 2021 and recently accepted the position on a permanent basis.

An FMA Executive Committee member since 2014, Dr. Lenchus has held leadership roles including President-Elect, Speaker, and Vice Speaker, in addition to serving on several councils and committees. He is also an FMA PAC member, Past President of the Florida Osteopathic Medical Association, Past President of the Miami-Dade County Osteopathic Medical Society, and he has been an active member of many other medical organizations at the national, state, and county levels.

Dr. Lenchus and his wife, Deborah, have four children: Isaac, Aaron, Samuel, and Hannah.

Board Members

FMA BOG 2022-2023
Photo Caption (from left to right) Front Row: Rudolph Moise, DO, Charles Chase, DO, Doug Murphy, MD, Jason Goldman, MD, Joshua Lenchus, DO, Lisa Cosgrove, MD, Alma Littles, MD, Ashley Norse, MD, Mark Rubenstein, MD, Rebekah Bernard, MD; Middle Row: James St. George, MD, Mark Dobbertien, DO, Shane Strum, Ben Schachner, Paresh Patel, MD, Ryan Hall, MD, Daniel Daube, MD, Michelle Flaat, Edward King, MD, Sanjay Pattani, MD, Hector Vila, MD; Top Row: Naresh Pathak, MD, Michael Patete, MD, Alexander Lake, DO, Alan Pillersdorf, MD, Roger Duncan, MD, Nitesh Paryani, MD, John Montgomery, MD, Corey Howard, MD, Ajoy Kumar, MD, Charles Lockwood, MD
President, Joshua Lenchus, DO,*
Ft. Lauderdale
President-Elect, Jason Goldman, MD,*
Coral Springs
Vice President, Lisa Cosgrove, MD,*
Secretary, Alma Littles, MD,*
Treasurer, Charles Chase, DO,*
Speaker, Ashley Norse, MD,*
Vice Speaker, Mark Rubenstein, MD,*
Immediate Past President, Doug Murphy, MD,*
Parliamentarian, Alan Pillersdorf, MD,
Palm Beach
District A, Paresh Patel, MD,
District B, Mark Dobbertien, DO,

District C, Ajoy Kumar, MD,
Tierra Verde
District D, Sanjay Pattani, MD,
District E, Rebekah Bernard, MD,
District F, Roger Duncan, MD,
Palm Beach Gardens
District G, Rudolph Moise, DO,*
District H, Edward King, MD,
Primary Care, Naresh Pathak, MD,
Pompano Beach
Surgical Specialties, Daniel Daube MD,
Panama City
Specialty Society Section, Ryan Hall, MD,
Lake Mary
YPS, Nitesh Paryani, MD,
RFS, Alexander Lake, DO,

MSS, Ben Schachner,*
At-Large, John Montgomery, MD,
Fleming Island
AMA, Corey Howard, MD,
Chair, Council on Legislation, James St. George, MD,*
PAC, Michael Patete, MD,
Council on Medical School Deans, Charles Lockwood, MD,
Public Member, Joe Johnson
Public Member, Shane Strum,
Ft. Lauderdale
Department of Health, Joseph Ladapo, MD,
Board of Medicine, Hector Vila, MD,
Medical Society Executive, Michelle Flaat,
Panama City

*Members of the Executive Committee

BOG Policy Guide