

FMA Awards

- (1) Award of Distinguished Service
- (2) Certificate of Appreciation
- (3) Distinguished Layman's Award
- (4) Gerold L. Schiebler, M.D., Advocate for Medical Students Award
- (5) Harold S. Strasser, M.D., Good Samaritan Award
- (6) Roy M. Baker, M.D., Award for Outstanding Leadership in the Provision of Emergency Medical Services by a Physician or Layperson

Award of Distinguished Service – The Award of Distinguished Service is the FMA's highest award and is presented by the FMA House of Delegates. Selections, of no more than two recipients per year, are made among those members who have rendered exceptional and outstanding service to the Association, to the medical profession, and to the public over a period of years.

<u>**Certificate of Appreciation**</u> –Members of the Florida Medical Association who have performed unusual or outstanding service to the Association, to the medical profession and to the public.

Distinguished Layman's Award – In 1972, the House of Delegates authorized the creation of a special annual award to recognize distinguished service by a layperson. This award could be made to any individual not possessing an M.D., or D.O., degree, who is a legal resident of Florida and who has made significant and lasting contributions to the medical profession.

Gerold L. Schiebler, M.D., Advocate for Medical Students Award – In 2002 The Board of Governors created an award category of "Advocate for Medical Students" to be presented by the medical students, to an FMA member at the FMA House of Delegates awards ceremony. In 2008, this award was renamed the Gerold L. Schiebler, M.D. Advocate for Medical Students Award.

Harold S. Strasser, M.D., Good Samaritan Award – The 1983 House of Delegates established this award to be given annually from nominations submitted by county medical societies, FMA recognized specialty groups and hospital medical staff. Individual physicians and/or groups of physicians qualify for the Harold S. Strasser, M.D., Good Samaritan Award.

Roy M. Baker, M.D., Award for Outstanding Leadership in the Provision of Emergency Medical Services by a Physician or Layperson – This award was established in 1995 by the House of Delegates to be given to a physician or layperson whose efforts have greatly contributed to protecting the health and safety of the citizens of their community or the state of Florida, either in preparation for or during the time of a natural or caused disaster.