Delegate Voting FAQ

Elections will take place on a virtual platform. Below are FAQs to address many of your questions.

Who can vote?

Registered delegates for the 2020 Annual Meeting can vote in the elections. County and Specialty Society Executives: No changes will be made to delegate rosters after Friday, July 17th. Please make sure all delegates are current on their 2020 FMA membership dues no later than Tuesday, July 28th at 5:00 p.m. EDT. Email rosters to Angelique Bowman at

How can we vote?

The week of the election, delegates will receive emailed instructions on how to cast their vote and a follow-up email with access to their electronic ballot. These emails will be unique to each delegate and should not be forwarded or shared with anyone.

Who are the candidates?

Candidate profiles will be available on the website prior to the elections. You will be able to learn about your FMA candidates through these profiles.

The Candidates for FMA Office are as follows:
President-Elect – Douglas Murphy, MD
Vice President – Joshua Lenchus, DO
Secretary – Lisa Cosgrove, MD
Treasurer – Jason Goldman, MD
Speaker – Ashley Norse, MD
Vice Speaker – Chris Constance, MD, Mark Rubenstein, MD
District A – Christie Alexander, MD
District H – Edward King, MD
Primary Care Representative – Diana Twiggs, MD
Medical Specialties – Catherine Kowal, MD
Surgical Specialties – George Canizares, MD
YPS – Hansel Tookes, MD 

The Candidates for the FMA AMA Delegation are as follows:
Christie Alexander, MD
Madelyn Butler, MD
Eva Crooke, MD
Ronald Giffler, MD
Rafael Haciski, MD
Lawrence Halperin, MD
Tra’Chella Johnson Foy, MD
Rebecca Johnson, MD

John Montgomery, MD
Douglas Murphy, MD
Ralph Nobo, MD
Arthur Palamara, MD
Alan Pillersdorf, MD
Michael Patete, MD
Sergio Seoane, MD 

Nominations for the above positions closed Friday, July 10th at 5:00 p.m. EDT.

All campaign materials were due Thursday, July 23rd at 5:00 p.m. EDT.
  The videos will be posted on July 24th.  For more specific video guidelines, please email Brittany Jackson at

What about FMA AMA Delegate races?

Due to the volume of candidates for AMA, videos will not be permitted. The campaign material is your candidate profile.

When can I vote?

Voting for the FMA Board of Governors, FMA Officers, AMA Delegates, and the Bylaws will be open from Wednesday, July 29th at 9:00 a.m. EDT through Thursday, July 30th at 11:59 p.m. EDT. The winners will be announced at 12:00 p.m. EDT Friday, July 31st.

**Tech support will be available 9:00 a.m. EDT to 6:00 p.m. EDT on Wednesday and Thursday.

What happens if there is a tie?

In the event of a tie race, a run-off election will be held. Voting will open on Friday, July 31st at 12:00 p.m. EDT and go through Saturday, August 1st at 12:00 p.m. EDT.

How will I know if the election is accurate?

Your Speaker of the House of Delegates, Joshua Lenchus, DO, Vice Speaker of the House of Delegates, Ashley Norse, MD, FMA President, Ronald Giffler, MD, and FMA President-Elect, Michael Patete, MD, have selected a Credentials and Standing Rules Committee. The committee will test the voting system and ensure that the vote is accurate and fair. Members of this committee are:

  • Daniel Thimann, MD, Chair
  • Maribel Lockwood, MD
  • Joel Silverfield, MD
  • Jason Wilson, MD

You mentioned there will be voting on Bylaws.

There will be 7 proposed amendments to the bylaws that will be voted on. You will have the option to “Adopt” or “Not Adopt” in the same voting system as that for the elections and during the same time frame. Reference Committee II (the only reference committee that will be appointed for this meeting) will review the proposed bylaws amendments, and their recommendations will be included in your voting materials. The Speakers have appointed the following as members of Reference Committee II:

  • Alma Littles, MD, Chair
  • John Armstrong, MD
  • John Bailey, DO
  • Elizabeth Devos, MD
  • Vincent DeGennaro, MD
  • Nitesh Paryani, MD
  • Todd Smaka, MD

Thank you so much for your leadership and service in this unprecedented time. If you have further questions, please email them to Brittany Jackson at